NEW TENNESSEE LAW RAISES PENALTIES FOR DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE

Driving without insurance or registration is one way that many drivers across the country, including those in Tennessee, believe they are saving money. However, the consequences of not having insurance can be more costly than keeping up on insurance payments, especially if an uninsured motorist causes an accident. At Cantrell, Goodge & Associates, our attorneys have handled numerous claims involving people who were injured in accidents caused by drivers without insurance.

The law requires drivers in Tennessee to carry insurance, but what consequences do the uninsured face if they are caught? According to WAAY-TV News, a new state law went into effect in July that increases the penalties for uninsured drivers who are pulled over or involved in an accident. Drivers without insurance coverage may have their vehicles towed. The fine for driving without insurance was also increased from $100 to $300. Soon, as in some other states, police officers in Tennessee will be able to check insurance policies in the same way they verify registration during traffic stops.

Insurance coverage is important for all drivers to have. If another driver causes an accident in which you are injured, the other driver’s insurance policy should cover all or a portion of your medical expenses. If the at-fault party is uninsured, these expenses may have to come out of his or her pocket. In this way, having insurance also protects those at fault in a collision. To learn more about accidents involving uninsured motorists, please visit our page by clicking here.

Categories:

Get a Trusted Advocate in Your Corner

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.